於2001年獲認許

李詠文大律師

認許

執業大律師 香港 2001
執業律師 澳洲新南威爾斯州最高法院 2000
執業大律師及事務律師 紐西蘭高等法院 1999

教育資歷

法學專業證書 香港大學 2001
法律專業課程 紐西蘭法律專業學院 1999
法學士(榮譽學位) 紐西蘭奧克蘭大學 1999

工作及服務經驗

香港大學法學士「刑事訴訟程序」課程兼職講師 2016秋
暫委特委裁判官 2009
勞工署檢控工作培訓員 2014-2015

執業履歷

Amanda的執業範圍包括刑事及民事法。

Amanda的執業範圍涵蓋所有刑事法範疇,專攻商業罪案及洗黑錢案件。在資深大律師領導下,Amanda參與過多宗案件的辯護工作,其中涉及若干知名人士。近年,Amanda亦為律政司在區域法院進行刑事檢控工作。Amanda於2009年擔任暫委特委裁判官。

民事商業案件方面,Amanda曾獨自或跟隨資深大律師參與不同範疇的案件,包括詐騙、股東及合約糾紛。

語言能力

Amanda能以粵語或英語處理案件,並擅於普通話會話。

案件摘錄

刑事案件

 

  1. Yan Sui Ling (嚴穗陵) v. HKSAR [2012] 15 HKCFAR 146

內地投資者嚴穗陵女士於區域法院被裁定一項洗黑錢罪,當時由另一名資深大律師為其辯護。她在其大律師事務所負責人黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下,為被告就有關判決向上訴法庭提出上訴。上訴法庭駁回有關上訴。Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下,為被告向終審法院提出上訴申請,因符合「顯示曾有實質及嚴重的不公平情況」而獲批准上訴許可。終審法院接受有關上訴,並撤銷嚴女士的控罪。該宗案件涉及的重大問題為中國大陸地下錢莊對香港洗黑錢罪行的影響,以及原審法官與上訴法庭對證據之評估是否有誤。

 

  1. HKSAR v. Shum Kin Wing (沈建榮) and Another (DCCC No. 175/2013; CACC No. 437/2013)

兩名被告於區域法院被控告洗黑錢罪,指控的依據為被告之銀行帳戶交易金額和報稅單的收入不對稱。Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下被告辯護。辯方在審訊中傳召多位證人,並提交多個文件冊的證供,以解釋有關銀行帳戶交易。被告於長達數星期的審訊最後被判部份罪名成立。Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下成功於上訴法庭提出上訴,兩名被告均獲撤銷餘下罪名,且並無責令重審。有關議題涉及終審法院在彭洪輝一案作出的判決所產生的法律要點,以及原審法官對於事實的裁決是否作出誤判。

 

  1. HKSAR v. Koon Wing Yee (官永義), Sham Man Keung (沈文強) and others (HCCC No. 66/2010)

商人官永義先生及其共同被告被控就上市公司股份及持有軍火的金錢糾紛向商人許智明勒索。Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下,於高等法院為其中一名共同被告沈文強先生辯護,由陪審團審訊。所有被告於長達數星期的審訊後均獲無罪釋放,並得訟費。

 

  1. HKSAR v. Wong Cho-shing, Lau Cheuk-ngai, Pak Wing-bun and 4 others (CACC No. 38/2017)

7名警員於區域法院被裁定在2014年10月15日佔領運動期間歐打示威者曾健超。Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下,代表「7警案」的第三被告人偵緝警長白榮斌向上訴法庭就定罪及判刑提出上訴。

 

  1. HKSAR v. Wong Ying Ho Kennedy (黃英豪), Chui Chuen Shun (徐傳順) and another (HCCC No. 409/2015)

Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下,代表被控兩項賄賂罪的黃英豪博士(中國人民政治協商會議委員及前上市公司主席)。該案原本將於2017年2月在高等法院由陪審團進行審訊,但高等法院法官批准律政司的申請命令案件移交區域法院進行審訊。Amanda並沒有參與區域法院將進行的審訊。

 

  1. HKSAR v. Yeung Ka Sing Carson (楊家誠) (CACC No. 101/2014)

被告商人於區域法院被裁定洗黑錢罪罪名成立。於終審法院在彭洪輝一案作出判決前,Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下為上訴人擬備了已完備的上訴理據,並於上訴申請前進行了首次保釋申請,而保釋申請其後被延期。

 

  1. HKSAR v. Wong Kwan (黃坤), Lew Mun-hung(劉夢熊), Yik Siu Hung(翼小紅)and Another (HCCC No. 561/2013)

在一宗串謀詐騙及洗黑錢案件中,Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下於高等法院為商人翼小紅女士辯護。該審訊極為複雜,涉及一家名為東方明珠石油的香港上市公司購買一塊海外油田的事宜。其中一些相關議題包括永久終止聆訊的申請及《上市規則》的應用。翼女士於審訊後被定罪。

 

  1. Application for a summons of private prosecution against Madam Chan Sock Fun (陳淑芬) (ESMP 9236/2016)

Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下,代表陳淑芬女士(張學友演唱會的前主辦人)成功反對向其提出串謀詐騙傳票申請。因有關申請因缺乏法律理據,由裁判官撤銷。

 

  1. HKSAR v. Ip Man Man (葉民文) (DCCC No.801/2002)

Amanda在黃敏杰資深大律師的帶領下,於區域法院為一名上市公司主席辯護,該名被告被控自其擔任主席及主要股東的上市公司偷竊金錢。被告於審訊後獲無罪釋放,並得訟費。

 

  1. Secretary for Justice v. Cheung Chung Chit (CACV No.206/2003 on appeal from HCAL No. 172/2002; [2003] 3 HKLRD 447)

Amanda在資深大律師的帶領下,於區域法院審訊中代表一名被控持有88張美元偽鈔(每張面值100萬美元)的商人,成功申請永久中止刑事訴訟程序。Amanda在兩位資深大律師的帶領下出席高等法院,參與由律政司司長就原審法官批准永久中止訴訟的決定作出的司法覆核申請,以及參與對高等法院的裁決提出上訴。上訴法庭重申高等法院的決定,並撤銷對永久中止訴訟的批准,其中理由包括有關申請過早提出。

 

民事案件:

Xu Shengheng and Ever Sincere Investment Ltd v Cheung Kwan by Original Claim and Cheung Kwan and Financial International Holdings Ltd v. Xu Shengheng & Others by Counterclaim (HCA No. 291 of 2009; CACV No. 133 of 2012)

 

New World Development Co Ltd v. Sun Hung Kai Securities Ltd (2006) 9 HKCFAR 403

 

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Ltd v. New World Development Co. Ltd & Others (2006) 9 HKCFAR 234

 

Modern Office Technology Limited v. New World TMT Limited (CACV No. 292 & 293/2006)

頂部

Called to the Bar in HK in 2001

Amanda W.M. Li

Call

Barrister-at-Law Hong Kong 2001
Legal Practitioner Supreme Court of New South Wales, Australia 2000
Barrister-at-Law and Solicitor High Court of New Zealand 1999

Education

P.C.LL. The University of Hong Kong 2001
Law Professional Course The Institute of Professional Legal Studies of New Zealand 1999
LL.B. (Hons) The University of Auckland, New Zealand 1999

Appointment and services

Part-time Lecturer for “Criminal Procedure” at The University of Hong Kong for Bachelor of Laws degree Fall 2016
Deputy Special Magistrate 2009
Trainer to Labour Department on prosecuting offences 2014-2015

Practice Profile

Amanda Li practices in criminal and civil law.

Amanda practices in all areas of criminal law, specializing in complexed commercial crimes and money laundering. Amanda regularly appears as junior counsel defending established individuals in all levels of court including the Court of Final Appeal. Amanda is briefed by the Department of Justice to prosecute in selected cases in the District Court. Amanda sat as a Deputy Special Magistrate in 2009.

In her civil commercial practice, Amanda appears in the High Court as advocate in her own right and as junior counsel in cases involving fraud, shareholders and contractual disputes.

Language

Amanda conducts cases in both Cantonese and English and speaks conversational Putonghua.

Selected Cases

Criminal cases

  1. Yan Sui Ling (嚴穗陵) v. HKSAR [2012] 15 HKCFAR 146

Chinese investor Madam Yan Sui Ling was convicted of a charge of money laundering in the District Court. Amanda, led by her Head of Chambers, Mr. Wong Man Kit S.C. conducted the appeal in the Court of Appeal against the conviction. The Court of Appeal dismissed the appeal. Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., further conducted the appeal in the Court of Final Appeal, and leave to appeal was granted on the limb of substantial and grave injustice. The Court of Final Appeal accepted their submissions and quashed Madam Yan’s conviction. The case involved the significant issue of the underground banking system in mainland China on money laundering offences in Hong Kong.

 

  1. HKSAR v. Shum Kin Wing (沈建榮) and Another (CACC No. 437/2013; DCCC No. 175/2013)

The Defendants were charged with money laundering offences based on their five years’ bank account transactions and their tax returns. Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., defended the Defendants and they were convicted of a number of charges after trial. Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C. conducted the appeal in the Court of Appeal and the convictions were quashed, and no retrial was ordered. The issues involved points of law arising from the Court of Final Appeal’s decision in Pang Hung Fai and whether the trial judge erred in his findings of facts and his application of the test as expounded in Pang Hung Fai.

 

  1. HKSAR v. Koon Wing Yee (官永義), Sham Man Keung (沈文強) and others (HCCC No. 66/2010)

Businessman Mr. Koon Wing Yee and his co-defendants were charged with blackmailing Hui Chi Ming over a money dispute involving the shares of a locally listed company as well as possession of firearms. Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., defended one of the co-defendants Mr. Sham Man Keung before a jury at the Court of First Instance. The defendants were acquitted of all charges after trial.

 

  1. HKSAR v. Wong Cho-shing, Lau Cheuk-nga, Pak Wing-bun and 4 Others (CACC No.38/2017)

Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., is representing Detective Sergeant Pak Wing-bun who was one of the 7 police officers convicted in the District Court for assaulting protestor Tsang Kin Chiu in the Central Occupy Movement in 2014 in an appeal against both conviction and sentence in the Court of Appeal.

 

  1. HKSAR v. Yeung Ka Sing Carson (楊家誠) (CACC No. 101/2014)

Businessman and former president of English football club Birmingham City FC Mr. Carson Yeung was convicted of money laundering offences in the District Court. Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C. prepared the perfected grounds of appeal for Mr. Yeung in the appeal to the Court of Appeal before the release of the Court of Final Appeal’s decision in Pang Hung Fai and conducted the first bail pending appeal application for Mr. Yeung.

 

  1. HKSAR v. Wong Kwan (黃坤), Lew Mun-hung (劉夢熊), Yik Siu Hung (翼小紅) and Another (HCCC No. 561/2013)

Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., defended businesswoman Madam Yik Siu Hung in the complicated and lengthy jury trial at the Court of First Instance who was charged with conspiracy to defraud and money laundering, arising from the purchase of an overseas oilfield by a locally listed company Pearl Oriental Oil Limited. Madam Yik was convicted after trial.

 

  1. HKSAR v. Wong Ying Ho Kennedy (黃英豪), Chui Chuen Shun (徐傳順) and another (HCCC No. 409/2015)

Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., acted for Dr. Kennedy Wong Ying Ho (former chairman of a listed company and member of the Political Consultative Conference of the PRC) who is charged with bribery offences. The jury trial at the Court of First Instance originally scheduled to commence in February 2017, but upon the application by the Department of Justice, the Court ordered that the matter be transferred to the District Court for trial. Amanda is not involved in the District Court trial.

 

  1. Application for a summons of private prosecution against Madam Chan Sock Fun (陳淑芬) (ESMP 9236/2016)

Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., represented Madam Chan Sock Fun, former organizer of Jacky Cheung’s concerts, in resisting an application for a summons of private prosecution against her for conspiracy to defraud in respect of the matters arising out of Jacky Cheung’s ½ century world tour concerts. The application was dismissed by the Magistrate for lack of merits.

 

  1. HKSAR v. Ip Man Man (葉民文) (DCCC No.801/2002)

Amanda, led by Mr. Wong S.C., defended Mr. Ip Man Man, former chairman of a locally listed company in a District Court trial, who was charged with embezzlement of funds belonging to the listed company of which he was the chairman and the majority shareholder. The Defendant was acquitted after trial.

 

  1. Secretary for Justice v. Cheung Chung Chit (CACV No.206/2003 on appeal from HCAL No. 172/2002; [2003] 3 HKLRD 447); HKSAR v. Cheung Chung Chit (DCCC No.521/2002)

Amanda, led by a Senior Counsel, successfully applied for a permanent stay of criminal proceedings for businessman Mr. Cheung Chung Chit in a District Court trial who was charged with having in possession of counterfeit banknotes. Amanda, led by two Senior Counsel, also appeared in the High Court in an application for judicial review made by the Secretary for Justice against the decision of the trial judge in granting a permanent stay and also in an appeal against the High Court decision. The Court of Appeal reaffirmed the High Court decision in, inter alia, quashing the decision granting a permanent stay on grounds that the application was made on a premature basis.

 

Civil cases:

Xu Shengheng and Ever Sincere Investment Ltd v. Cheung Kwan and Cheung Kwan and Financial International Holdings Ltd v. Xu Shengheng & Others (HCA No. 291 of 2009; CACV No. 133 of 2012)

 

New World Development Co Ltd v. Sun Hung Kai Securities Ltd (2006) 9 HKCFAR 403

 

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Ltd v. New World Development Co. Ltd & Others (2006) 9 HKCFAR 234

 

Modern Office Technology Limited v. New World TMT Limited (CACV No. 292 & 293/2006

Top